Wasn't asked to fill SF86 Form

I have an undergoing investigation for a Secret Clearance and from looking at posts, a lot of people are mentioning filling out the SF86 form, which I was never asked to fill out. I was only asked for my fingerprints and proof of citizenship. It has been about two months since the process began and I am unsure of what the status is since I haven’t heard anything from my employer. Is it odd that I was never asked to fill out the SF86? Could this be indicative that I am undergoing an investigation for a different kind of clearance? (I am very new to all this so any information would be appreciated)

1 Like

Did you fill out anything online? Maybe you didn’t realize it was the SF86. Did you go to a website and enter a boatload of information (such as past jobs, addresses, family members, contacts, etc.)? If you haven’t done that then you might want to contact your employer and push for more information. Maybe there is a hiring freeze due to covid19 and they are holding off on giving you the SF86.

I contacted my employer and was told that since I had an investigation about two years ago, they are waiting for the DoD to upgrade me from favorable to Secret. Any idea what this means or how long it will take?

Talk about déjà vu; I was getting ready to prepare a post and as I was searching for the correct group to mention my current shenanigans, I found this lil gem.

I hope it’s not considered rude to piggyback onto your post but it would seem that you and I are literally going through the exact same thing.

Here is my story. I applied for a position with the DoD that was open for about fifteen days. And let me tell you I have never seen an agency move so fast through the posting, selection, interview and contingent job offer process. I was given my CJO in about six weeks from the application deadline.