Department of State clearance

I’m a contractor waiting on my DoS secret clearance. I’ve held DoD clearance at the secret, top-secret and top secret with SCI and was a top-secret courier. This is my first DoS clearance. I’m now at 200 days and nothing. My company FSO tells me he can not look up anything. I know there is a terrible backlog, I’ve seen the 1st quarter FY18 timeline but these all speak of DoD clearances. Is my timeline about right?

28 Sept.17 SF86 submitted
from Sept to Dec all background checks completed
December attended DoS WPS training course
28 January 18 interview complete
29 January 18 to present crickets

I’m in almost the exact situation as you. SF86 submitted around same time, interview around same time. Still waiting… That is interesting you were able to attend the training course already. The company paid you to train but now you are waiting to deploy until clearance granted? That would be a tough situation to be in.

yep, completed training, medical,dental, drug tests,and have my country Visa, simply waiting.
so update to my timeline, after calling the DoS myself today, because I got tired of the company FSO telling “we havent heard anything and we cant check”, a simple phone call and I found out that my DoS secert clearance went to adjudication on 8 Febuary. Is it normal for something to sit in adjudication this long?

Can I ask what company you are being hired with? Is it TC?

• I’m suprised a company would send you to training, pay for medical/dental/drug tests without knowing if you will even be cleared.
1 Like

I was put in for a secret clearance with DoS a few years back. The investigator wrapped up his piece, which was I think the only investigation required. About seven months later he contacted me again with a couple of questions from the adjudicator. Within a week the clearance was granted.