In Serious Need of Advice

Hey there,

Like my title states, I am in desperate need of advice on my situation with trying to obtain a DOE L Clearance. I graduated with a bachelor’s in mechanical engineering in December of 2021. It took me some time to get a job offer as I previously had no experience with internships or co ops. After 8 months, I got an offer with a DoE contractor in August of 2022. Here’s what my timeline has been since receiving the offer:

September 17, 2022: eQIP application submitted to the federal government

November 01, 2022: interview with contract investigator for DCSA to discuss my eQIP application and my contact with a foreign national (one of my roommates from college)

December 02, 2022: Investigation Results Received according to ATS website

January 24, 2023: After contacting security personnel at the company, I learned my application was under review with a federal adjudicator

June 14, 2023: Received copy of records for background investigations using FOI/PA. OPM assessment is F - No Issues

July 05, 2023: Notified that my request for adjudicative records using FOI/PA has been received but have not heard anything else regarding this.

December 05, 2023: After speaking with security personnel, they contacted their local government office and shared the following: I spoke with our government office, unfortunately they do not share much information. The local office reported you investigation is with a partner DOE office for review, they would not speculate on how long this would take.

December 05, 2023: Submitted request for help with a federal agency to my congressional representative.

January 04, 2024: Caseworker for my congressional representative responded with an interim update from the agency: This has been submitted to our casework team, please note that the process can take some time as they work to address your constituents’ concerns.