Rushed Adjudication? Advice Needed

TS/SCI clearance for a Coop program at an IC agency. Start date was billed as being in January. Investigation complete and sent to adjudication week before Christmas- formally held a now expired Secret clearance with the same agency. No red flags per my investigator.

Here is the problem- I’m a full time student using the GI Bill and supposed to be taking the semester off for this program to work full time. I can’t afford to wait a month + or however long it takes for adjudication without any income.

The semester starts January 15 so I need to have a guarantee of either an interim or adjudication decision by then, otherwise I cannot enroll in classes for the semester (with the gi bill providing income I need for COL) and I would have to find a temp job for 6 months and miss out on a semester of school.

I cannot do the Coop program and go to school full time and would lose out on months of GI bill benefits if I did part time while I waited for an adjudication decision. Tried asking the program coordinator if I had a January start date and was told that security is completely separate from them.

Questions:

Is it possible to get an adjudication decision in a few weeks?

Are adjudicators provided with a deadline for decisions?

Anyone have any experience with clearances for programs such as this with advertised start dates?

Hopefully i explained this sufficiently but if any clarification is needed I’m happy to do so! Thanks, and any advice would be much appreciated!

I’ve seen several stories like this on these forums. Adjudication takes as long as it takes and I don’t think there’s any deadline to meet an internship/coop program. More than one person has been told, “sorry, but you can apply again next year… and go through this whole nutroll all over again.”

Who knows maybe you will hear good news from the agency before you read this post.

4 Likes